The Meater Pro is a single wireless probe for one piece of meat, listed at $99.99 on Meater's product page on 25 October 2026. It suits a brisket or a butt you cook while you stay near the pit, including a fire hotter than a low-and-slow grate, and it is the wrong buy when you need to leave the house.

Why you'd buy it

You'd buy it because one probe can watch a packer for the whole cook, and the handle is rated for heat that would cook a lesser probe. Meater's Pro product page says the probe has five internal sensors, an internal maximum of 221°F at about ±0.5°F, and an ambient sensor that handles up to 1000°F. A brisket pulled around 203°F sits under that internal ceiling with room to spare. The ambient number is why you'd pick this probe when the same stick might see a sear or a hot spot, instead of only a 250°F pit.

The probe is waterproof, including the dishwasher. Meater says a 15-minute charge is enough for about 12 hours of cooking, and a 5-minute charge covers about a 2-hour cook. The charger runs on one AAA battery, which they say lasts about two years if you cook a steak a week. You are not buying a cloud logger. You are buying a probe you can leave in the flat, a charger that repeats Bluetooth to your phone, and a high enough ambient ceiling that a flare does not end the tool.

The five sensors matter on a brisket flat, which is not one temperature. A single tip in the wrong inch can read a hot streak near the point while the middle of the flat is still climbing. Meater says those sensors are there to find the lowest internal temperature. I have not logged this probe beside a reference thermometer, so that sentence stays a maker claim. The shape of the problem is real either way: one hole, more than one point in the meat, and no wire across the grate.

Why you wouldn't

You wouldn't buy it if the plan is to leave. Meater's Pro page says the single Pro has no built-in Wi-Fi. The open-air figure they print, about 2,500 feet, and the typical home figure, about 250 feet, are Bluetooth from the booster to the phone. Wi-Fi shows up on the Pro Duo, whose Amazon title is the two-probe Wi-Fi thermometer, and on the Pro XL. "Unlimited range" on the single Pro means a second phone running Meater's link, which is a spare phone parked near the pit, rather than a charger that joined your router.

You also wouldn't buy it to hold the pit. A Meater reads meat and the air at the handle. It does not run a fan. When the bottom vent on a kamado is the thing wandering, the tool you want is a wired logger such as the FireBoard 2 or ThermoWorks Signals. The charger itself is not waterproof and not fireproof. It stays outside the cooker, out of the rain, off the fire.

A second cut needs a second probe. This box is one. And if you already own a Plus, the probes do not share chargers. A spare from the older dock will not save a Saturday.

Price and value

On 25 October 2026, Meater's Pro product page showed $99.99 beside the name MEATER Pro, and the Amazon Honey listing showed the same $99.99 price amount. The Duo page listed $179.99, and Amazon's Duo price amount was $179.99 the same day, so the $99.99 figure is the one-probe charger. I am citing the prices printed on those pages that day. They can move.

For that $99.99 you get one probe, the Bluetooth charger, and the AAA battery Meater includes. You get five internal sensors, the 221°F internal ceiling, the 1000°F ambient ceiling, a waterproof probe, and the fast-charge claim above. You do not get a second probe, Wi-Fi, a screen you can read with greasy hands, or a fan. Meater's Plus page listed the older single probe at $79.99 the same day. Twenty dollars is the gap between a 527°F ambient ceiling and a 1000°F one, between a probe Meater does not call dishwasher-safe in the Plus generation and one they do, and between the older Bluetooth hop and Bluetooth 5. If every cook you run is 225 to 275°F and you never sear with the probe in the meat, the Plus is the one that matches the job and costs less. The longer split is Meater Pro vs Meater Plus.

How it compares

Prices below were read on 25 October 2026, and Combustion's price again on 26 October 2026. Meater's own pages cover the Pro and the Plus. Amazon's price amount covers the TempSpike pair and the four-probe CHEF iQ Sense. Combustion's $229 is their Wi-Fi Display kit page. Sensor counts and temperature ceilings are those same pages. Nothing in the table is a score from this site.

Meater ProMeater PlusTempSpike, 2 probesCombustion Wi-Fi DisplayCHEF iQ Sense, 4 probes
Price that day$99.99 on meater.com and Amazon$79.99$89.98 Amazon price amount$229 on Combustion's kit page$249.99 Amazon price amount
What the box isOne probe, Bluetooth chargerOne probe, Bluetooth dockTwo color-coded probes and an LCD booster2nd-gen probe and Wi-Fi DisplayFour probes, Gen3, Wi-Fi
Internal ceiling221°F, about ±0.5°F212°FNot stated on the listingLower sensors to 220°F4 internal sensors in the bullet
Ambient ceiling1000°F527°FCeramic withstand up to 1050°F. Sensor max not stated900°F peak. Upper sensors 750°F continuous1000°F, listing wording
Sensors, as the page statesFive internal, plus ambientTwo-sensor designMeat and ambient on the booster. No sensor countEight sensors. Lower sensors ±0.4°F from 14 to 149°FTitle says 5 sensors. Bullet says 4 internal plus 1 ambient
WirelessBluetooth. No Wi-Fi in this boxBluetooth. No Wi-FiBluetooth 5.2, up to 600 ft. No Wi-FiWi-Fi display and MeatNet Bluetooth to about 1,000 ftWi-Fi. The listing says unlimited range

Combustion

The Combustion Wi-Fi Display kit is the second-generation Predictive Thermometer plus the display. On 26 October 2026 that page listed it at $229. Combustion says the probe uses eight sensors, from the edge of the meat out to the air around it, and that TrueCore finds the lowest internal temperature. The display counts down with the app or without it, and it can join Wi-Fi so the cook stays visible after you leave. The page lists a 900°F peak, a 750°F continuous limit on the upper sensors, lower sensors to 220°F, accuracy of ±0.4°F from 14 to 149°F on those lower sensors, an IP69K seal, and MeatNet Bluetooth out to about 1,000 feet combined. The Wi-Fi Booster is a separate choice on the same page. A USB power source is not in the box.

Against the Pro, that kit shows more points along one stick and puts a screen on the counter, so the phone is optional in a way the single Pro never is. The Pro was $99.99, with a dishwasher-safe probe and a 1000°F ambient maximum that Meater states as one number. Combustion's page is the one that splits 900°F peak from 750°F continuous. I would not call either probe more accurate. That would be a test I have not logged. The ±0.4°F line is Combustion's spec, not a cook on my grate.

TempSpike

The pair on this site is the TempSpike listing with two color-coded probes, not the older TP962 page. On 25 October 2026 Amazon's price amount was $89.98. The listing says Bluetooth 5.2 up to 600 ft, IP67 probes, an LCD booster that shows the current meat and ambient temps without opening the app, and no account or Wi-Fi setup. The ceramic line says the probe can withstand up to 1050°F. The listing does not give an internal sensor ceiling, so I am not inventing one, and I am not treating the withstand number as an ambient max.

You'd buy that pair instead of the Pro when you need two pieces of meat, or one piece of meat and a second check, and you want the booster screen. You'd buy the Pro when you want one probe, Meater's stated 1000°F ambient maximum, and the $99.99 single. $89.98 for two probes was less than one Pro on the day I checked. Neither listing has Wi-Fi, and neither drives a fan. The 600 ft figure is the listing's open number. A closed lid still shortens the hop from probe to booster, the same way a kamado shortens Meater's open-air number.

The budget single is the TP970, one thinner probe, part TP970, at a $39.99 price amount that day. Its listing says Bluetooth up to 600 ft without obstacles and an IP67 probe. It does not claim the pair's LCD booster or the 1050°F ceramic line. Buy it for one small cut. Buy the pair when you wanted two probes.

CHEF iQ

The four-probe CHEF iQ Sense is the Gen3 listing whose title says 4 ultra-thin probes, Wi-Fi, 1000°F, 5 sensors. Amazon's price amount on 25 October 2026 was $249.99. A feature line says four probes are included. Another says 4 internal sensors plus an ambient sensor, which is the same five split into a job for the meat and a job for the air, and up to 50 hours on a full charge. The lines I could read describe Wi-Fi and guided cooking. They do not name a separate hub, so I am not adding one.

You'd buy the four-probe Sense when several cuts should keep reporting after you leave, and you like the app walking you through a cook. You'd buy the Pro when you already know you want an alarm at the stall and another near 203°F, and one probe beside the pit is the whole job. $99.99 against $249.99 is that choice. On a brisket I already know, I want those two alarms. I can skip a guided script. That is a preference about the cook, not a score.

The one-probe Sense is a different listing. The title says one ultra-thin probe, the sensor bullet matches the four-probe page, and the price amount was $59.98. It does not say four probes are included. That is the Sense to compare with a single Pro when Wi-Fi is the reason to switch and you only have one piece of meat.

ThermoMaven P2

The ThermoMaven P2 is the two-probe listing with a smart base. Amazon's price amount was $89.99, and the page printed a typical price of $99.99. The listing says the base sets the target and shows readings without the app, with 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi from the base to the phone and Bluetooth from the base to the probes. Six sensors, five internal and one external, NIST-certified to ±0.5°F. Internal up to 221°F, ambient up to 752°F, IPX8, dishwasher. A dual-band router has to use the 2.4 GHz band. A sold-by line on the page names Bryco Goods, beside a Visit the ThermoMaven Store line.

You'd buy the P2 when you want a screen on the counter and two probes, at a price amount under one Pro. You'd buy the Pro when one probe, the higher stated ambient maximum, and Meater's charger are the fit, and you are fine opening the phone. The P2's 221°F internal ceiling matches the Pro's internal maximum on the number. The ambient numbers do not match: 752°F on the P2 listing, 1000°F on Meater's Pro page.

Meater Pro Duo

The Pro Duo is the step up that stays inside Meater. Amazon's title is a 2-probe Wi-Fi and Bluetooth thermometer with 6 sensors and a 1000°F figure, and the price amount was $179.99, the same number as Meater's Duo page. Buy it when you want a second probe and a charger that can leave the Bluetooth bubble. The single Pro is the one that stays at $99.99 and stays on Bluetooth.

Meater Plus

The Plus is the probe the Pro replaced in the lineup. Meater's Plus page and the Amazon Honey listing both showed $79.99 on 25 October 2026. Meater's Plus page puts the internal maximum at 212°F and the ambient maximum at 527°F, and it says the Alpha collection, which includes the Plus, uses a two-sensor design rather than the Pro's sensors. Bluetooth range on the Plus is up to about 165 feet, and they say the thickness of the cooker changes it. The dock is AAA. The probe is not the dishwasher-safe Pro probe, and it will not charge in a Pro dock.

For a 225 to 275°F brisket that finishes around 203°F, the Plus internal ceiling is enough, and the ambient ceiling is enough if the handle stays in a gentle pit. The Pro is the one you can leave in when the fire might spike, and the one with the longer Bluetooth hop and the probe you can wash. Twenty dollars, on the day I checked, is the whole argument.

Features at the pit

The sensors sit toward the tip. The ceramic section is the antenna and the ambient side. Push the tip into the thickest part of the brisket flat, off the fat cap and off a plate setter, and leave the ceramic in the air of the pit. Bury the ceramic and the ambient reading becomes another meat reading. The Bluetooth hop gets worse at the same time, which is most of Meater not connecting.

Meater says the probe finds the lowest internal temperature and will alert you when to pull, how long to rest, and when to eat. You can also set your own alerts on internal temperature, ambient temperature, or time. On a brisket I still pull from brisket internal temp, around 203°F and probe-tender, and I treat the app's time estimate as a guess I did not log. The estimate is a feature. It is not a clock from this site. Season the packer with the brisket rub before the probe goes in, because the bark sets early and you do not want to be salting around a wire you were glad you didn't have.

The charger stays just outside the cooker. Another room is too far on a kamado, because the ceramic shell eats the radio. The range printed as 2,500 feet is open air from the booster to the phone. With the lid closed, expect less, and expect the probe-to-charger hop to be the short one.

Setup, the app, and range

Setup is the probe in the meat, the charger outside, and the phone on the same Bluetooth hop as the charger. Meater says the single Pro does not join Wi-Fi by itself. If you want the graph to survive a trip to the store, you either leave a second phone running their link near the pit, or you buy a Duo or XL whose charger has Wi-Fi. I would buy the Duo on purpose rather than discover the gap at hour six.

The range section is where people get hurt by a spec sheet, so here it is in two hops, both cited.

Charger to phone, from Meater's Pro page: Bluetooth with a long-range booster, about 2,500 feet in open air, about 250 feet in a typical home. They also say, on the Plus page, that range depends on the thickness of the cooker, obstacles, and the phone. A kamado is a thick obstacle. I cook on a Kamado Joe, and the practical habit is the charger on a stand just outside the hinge, not on the kitchen counter.

Probe to charger, from a published test of this hardware under its old name. Naked Whiz reviewed the MEATER 2 Plus, which is the probe Meater now sells as the Pro. They measured the repeater losing the probe at 486 feet in line of sight with the probe vertical. Inside a large Big Green Egg they still had a connection at 39 feet, and they say the deck stopped them from walking farther. Inside a Weber Smokey Joe with the vents closed, 36 feet. Wrapped in two layers of heavy foil, 9 feet. Those are their measurements, on their cookers, with their phone. This site has not repeated the walk, and I am not going to pretend a Saturday on my Joe produced the same tape. What I will take from it is the shape: open air is a long number, a closed metal lid is a short number, and foil is worse. If you wrap a brisket in foil, leave the ceramic tip out, or the probe goes quiet. Pink butcher paper is the wrap that still lets a radio through more often, and the bark difference is on butcher paper vs foil.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Five internal sensors and a 1000°F ambient ceiling, both maker specs, cover one brisket and a hotter fire than a low pit.
  • $99.99 on 25 October 2026 bought the probe, the Bluetooth charger, and a dishwasher-safe probe.
  • A 15-minute charge is rated for about 12 hours, which covers a long smoke if you actually charge it first.

Cons

  • No Wi-Fi in the single Pro box. Leaving the house means a second phone or a different model.
  • Meater's 250-foot home range is charger to phone. A kamado still sits between the probe and that charger.
  • The charger is not waterproof and not fireproof, and Plus probes do not fit it.

Who should skip it

Skip it if you leave the house for hours. Buy the Meater Pro Duo if you want Meater's two-probe Wi-Fi charger, at the $179.99 Amazon price amount that day, or the one-probe CHEF iQ Sense if you want Wi-Fi on a single Gen3 probe at a $59.98 price amount. Skip it if the pit temperature is the failure. Buy a FireBoard 2, $199.00 on FireBoard's page, or Signals, $259.00 on Amazon and $249.00 on ThermoWorks' page, and add the fan separately. Skip it if you only cook low and slow and you want the smaller bill. The Plus at $79.99 does that job. Skip it if you need two probes and a booster screen. The two-probe TempSpike is that pair, at an $89.98 price amount, with an LCD booster and Bluetooth 5.2. The ThermoMaven P2 is the other pair, when the base has to show the cook without the app.

Skip a score, too, if you were looking for one. There isn't a logged cook of this probe against a reference thermometer on this site. The testing methodology says what that log has to include.

Shop

Meater Pro

One probe, Bluetooth, high ambient ceiling, $99.99 on 25 October 2026.

Price$99.99 on meater.com, 25 October 2026
Wi-FiNot on the single Pro
Ambient1000°F maker maximum

Bottom line. Buy it for a single long cook you attend. Buy a Wi-Fi model, or a wired logger, if the plan is to leave.

Meater Pro on Amazon