The Meater Plus is a single wireless probe for one piece of meat, listed at $79.99 on Meater's product page on 25 October 2026. It suits a brisket, a butt, or a rack of ribs at 225 to 275°F while you stay near the pit, and it is the wrong probe when the handle might see an open flame or you need the cook to keep reporting after you leave.
Why you'd buy it
You'd buy it because a long smoke at 225 to 275°F never asks for a 1000°F handle, and the Plus costs less than the probe that has one. Meater's Plus product page puts the internal sensor at a maximum of 212°F and the ambient sensor at a maximum of 527°F. A brisket or a pork butt pulled around 203°F sits under that internal ceiling with a little room. A gentle grate sits under the ambient ceiling if the ceramic end stays in the pit air. Meater's page describes the Alpha collection, which includes the Plus, the SE, and the Block, as a two-sensor design. You get one reading in the meat and one in the air at the handle.
The box is one probe, a bamboo charger, and one AAA battery. The Plus support guide says a first charge takes about 4 hours, later charges take about 2 hours, and the probe is rated for about 24 hours of cooking. The same guide says the AAA dock is good for about 100 charges, which they call about a year. The product page says that battery can last up to a year under normal use, and that it is included. You charge it the night before a dawn brisket. You are not buying a 15-minute top-up. That faster claim belongs to the Pro.
Meater's Plus page says the probes are waterproof and dishwasher safe. The support guide calls the probe water-resistant. I am citing both, and I have not run a wash cycle on one. The practical point is cleanup after a cook, not a claim that I scored the seal.
The app will estimate a cook time and offer doneness alerts. Meater describes that as a guided system. I have not logged the estimate against a clock on my grate, so it stays a maker feature. On a brisket I still pull from feel and from brisket internal temp, around 203°F and probe-tender. On ribs I still pull from the bend, which is how to smoke ribs. The estimate can sit on the phone. It is not the decision.
Why you wouldn't
You wouldn't buy it to leave the house. The Plus has no Wi-Fi. The range Meater prints, up to about 165 feet, is Bluetooth from the charger to the phone, and they say the cooker changes it. When the cook has to keep reporting from the store, the Alpha answer is the Meater Block, which puts Wi-Fi in a four-probe dock. A Pro-generation answer is the Meater Pro Duo. A second brand with Wi-Fi is a different section below. A spare phone is not a feature I am going to invent for this charger.
You wouldn't buy it for an open flame. Meater's Plus page says the company does not recommend Alpha probes over an open flame, and points high-heat grilling at the Pro or the Pro XL. The ambient ceiling is 527°F. A 250°F pit is inside that number. A sear, or a flare that reaches the ceramic end, is the cook that wants the Pro's 1000°F ambient maximum. The charger itself stays outside the pit. It is not a thing you set on the coals.
You wouldn't buy it to hold the pit, or to watch two cuts. This box is one probe. It reads meat and the air at the handle. It does not run a fan. When the kamado vent is the thing wandering, the tool is a wired logger such as the FireBoard 2 or ThermoWorks Signals. And a Plus probe does not fit a Pro charger. The docks are a pair with their own probes.
Price and value
On 25 October 2026, Meater's Plus page and the Amazon Honey listing both showed $79.99. I am citing the price printed on those pages that day. It can move. For that money you get one probe, the bamboo Bluetooth charger, and the AAA battery. You get a 212°F internal ceiling, a 527°F ambient ceiling, the two-sensor design, and the charge times in the support guide. You get a waterproof claim on the product page and a water-resistant line in the support guide. You do not get a second probe, Wi-Fi, a screen on the counter, or a fan.
The Pro page showed $99.99 the same day, and Amazon's Pro price amount matched it. Twenty dollars, on that day, is the gap between 527°F and 1000°F ambient, between a two-sensor Alpha probe and the Pro's sensors, and between this Bluetooth charger and Bluetooth 5. If every cook you run is 225 to 275°F and the probe never sees a sear, the Plus is the one that matches the job. The longer split is Meater Pro vs Meater Plus, and the Pro on its own is the Meater Pro review.
The Block is the other number in this family. On 29 October 2026, Meater's Block page listed it at $239.95. That page describes four probes, Wi-Fi, a standalone mode, and the same 212°F and 527°F ceilings. You are paying for three more probes and a dock that can join the house network, not for a higher heat rating. A single brisket beside the pit does not need that dock. A cook you leave, or four pieces of meat, is the Block's job.
How it compares
Prices below were read on 25 October 2026, except the Block and the one-probe CHEF iQ Sense on 29 October 2026, Combustion's kit on 26 October 2026, and the TempSpike pair on 28 October 2026. Meater's pages cover the Plus, the Pro, and the Block. Amazon's price amount covers the TempSpike pair and the one-probe CHEF iQ Sense. Combustion's $229 is their Wi-Fi Display kit page. Nothing in the table is a score from this site.
| Meater Plus | Meater Pro | TempSpike, 2 probes | CHEF iQ Sense, 1 probe | Combustion Wi-Fi Display | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price that day | $79.99 on meater.com and Amazon | $99.99 | $99.99 Amazon price amount on 28 October 2026 | $59.97 on 29 October 2026 | $229 on Combustion's kit page |
| What the box is | One probe, Bluetooth charger | One probe, Bluetooth charger | Two color-coded probes and an LCD booster | One Gen3 probe, Wi-Fi | 2nd-gen probe and Wi-Fi Display |
| Internal ceiling | 212°F | 221°F, about ±0.5°F | Not stated on the listing | 4 internal sensors in the bullet | Lower sensors to 220°F |
| Ambient ceiling | 527°F | 1000°F | Ceramic withstand up to 1050°F. Sensor max not stated | 1000°F, listing wording | 900°F peak. Upper sensors 750°F continuous |
| Sensors, as the page states | Two-sensor design | Five internal, plus ambient | Meat and ambient on the booster. No sensor count | Title says 5 sensors. Bullet says 4 internal plus 1 ambient | Eight sensors. Lower sensors ±0.4°F from 14 to 149°F |
| Wireless | Bluetooth, up to about 165 feet. No Wi-Fi | Bluetooth 5. No Wi-Fi on the single Pro | Bluetooth 5.2, up to 600 ft. No Wi-Fi | Wi-Fi. The listing says unlimited range | Wi-Fi display and MeatNet Bluetooth to about 1,000 ft |
Meater Pro
The Meater Pro is the twenty-dollar step up, at the $99.99 those pages showed on 25 October 2026. Meater's Pro page gives it five internal sensors, an internal maximum of 221°F at about ±0.5°F, an ambient maximum of 1000°F, Bluetooth 5, and a 15-minute charge rated for about 12 hours. The Plus page calls the Pro collection a six-sensor system and the Alpha probes a two-sensor design. The Pro review on this site quotes the Pro page's five internal sensors plus the ambient sensor. I am not going to flatten those two Meater sentences into one number.
You'd buy the Pro when the same probe might see a sear, when you want the faster charge before a long cook, or when you want more than one sensor in the meat. You'd buy the Plus when the pit stays at 225 to 275°F and $79.99 is the bill that fits. Neither single charger has Wi-Fi. The probes do not share docks. A kamado still sits between the probe and the charger on both of them.
Meater Block
The Block is the Plus idea with the two limits removed: one probe, and no Wi-Fi. Meater's Block page, read on 29 October 2026, lists four probes, built-in Wi-Fi, a standalone mode so the dock can run without the phone, and the same ceilings, 212°F inside and 527°F outside. The price on that page was $239.95. The Block support guide says each probe still reaches about 33 feet to the dock in open air, and that smokers and kettle grills can cut that hop hard. Wi-Fi range is your home network. The dock wants 2.4 GHz, runs on four AA batteries, and has a micro-USB port for long cooks. Plugging it in does not recharge those batteries, and the cable is not in the box. The support guide recommends USB for a long smoke because Wi-Fi drains the AAs faster than a Plus dock.
You'd buy the Block when you want this probe family and you are cooking more than one piece of meat, or you need the graph to survive a trip to the store. You'd buy the Plus when one rack or one brisket is the cook and you will be in the yard. The Block does not raise the ambient ceiling. Open-flame grilling is still the Pro's job, at a much smaller bill if you only need one probe.
TempSpike
The pair on this site is the TempSpike listing with two color-coded probes. On 28 October 2026 Amazon's price amount was $99.99. The listing says Bluetooth 5.2 up to 600 feet, IP67 probes, an LCD booster that shows meat and ambient without opening the app, and no account or Wi-Fi setup. The ceramic line says the probe can withstand up to 1050°F. The listing does not give an internal sensor ceiling, so I am not inventing one, and I am not treating the withstand number as an ambient maximum.
You'd buy that pair instead of the Plus when you need two pieces of meat, or one piece and a second check, and you want the booster screen. You'd buy the Plus when one probe at $79.99 is the whole job and you are fine opening the phone. On 28 October 2026 the pair cost more than the Plus and the same as a single Pro. Neither the Plus nor that pair has Wi-Fi. The 600-foot figure is the listing's open number. A closed kamado lid still shortens the hop, the same way it shortens Meater's 165-foot figure.
The budget single is the TP970, one thinner probe at a $39.99 price amount on 25 October 2026. Its listing says Bluetooth up to 600 feet without obstacles and an IP67 probe. It does not claim the pair's LCD booster or the 1050°F ceramic line. Buy it for one small cut when the bill is the point. Buy the Plus when you want Meater's stated ceilings and the app's cook estimate.
CHEF iQ
The one-probe CHEF iQ Sense is the Gen3 listing whose title says one ultra-thin probe, Wi-Fi, 1000°F, and 5 sensors. Amazon's price amount on 29 October 2026 was $59.97. A bullet says 4 internal sensors plus an ambient sensor, and up to 50 hours on a full charge. The lines I could read describe Wi-Fi and guided cooking. They do not name a separate hub, so I am not adding one.
You'd buy that Sense instead of the Plus when you might leave the house and you only have one piece of meat. $59.97 on 29 October 2026 against the Plus at $79.99 on 25 October 2026 is a lower bill and a Wi-Fi radio the Plus does not have. You'd buy the Plus when you want Meater's charger and you will stay near the pit, and you do not need the app to walk you through a cook you already know. I have not logged either estimate. The preference is about the radio, not a score.
The four-probe Sense is a different listing, at a $249.99 price amount that day, and it says four probes are included. That is the box to compare with the Block, not with a single Plus. Several cuts, Wi-Fi, and a higher stated ambient ceiling are the reasons. One brisket in the yard is not.
Combustion
The Combustion Wi-Fi Display kit is the second-generation Predictive Thermometer plus the display. On 26 October 2026 that page listed it at $229. Combustion says the probe uses eight sensors, from the edge of the meat out to the air around it, and that TrueCore finds the lowest internal temperature. The display counts down with the app or without it, and it can join Wi-Fi so the cook stays visible after you leave. The page lists a 900°F peak, a 750°F continuous limit on the upper sensors, lower sensors to 220°F, accuracy of ±0.4°F from 14 to 149°F on those lower sensors, an IP69K seal, and MeatNet Bluetooth out to about 1,000 feet combined. The Wi-Fi Booster is a separate choice. A USB power source is not in the box.
Against the Plus, that kit shows more points along one stick, a screen on the counter, and a path off Bluetooth. The Plus was $79.99, with a stated 527°F ambient maximum and a two-sensor design. Combustion's page is the one that splits 900°F peak from 750°F continuous. I would not call either probe more accurate. That would be a test I have not logged. The ±0.4°F line is Combustion's spec, not a cook on my grate. You'd buy the kit when the screen and the sensor count are the point. You'd buy the Plus when a gentle pit and a single probe are the whole Saturday.
Features at the pit
The sensors in a Plus sit in a two-sensor layout: internal toward the tip, ambient at the ceramic end. Push the tip into the thickest meat, off a fat pocket and off a bone, and leave the ceramic in the air of the pit. Bury the ceramic and the ambient reading becomes another meat reading. The Bluetooth hop gets worse at the same time, which is most of Meater not connecting.
Meater's ambient-sensor note says that sensor helps the app estimate cook time, and that it is not designed to measure or confirm the cooker's set temperature. They put its accuracy at about 9°F of the air at the handle, and they say the reading shows up in the app once it is a little hotter than the internal sensor. On a smoke, the number you hold the vents to is still a probe at the grate. The Plus handle can tell you the air next to the meat. It is a poor stand-in for the grate on a kamado, where the dome, the grate, and a pocket of air beside the flat are three different readings. The best meat thermometer for smoking is the longer version of that split.
Season the meat before the probe goes in. On a brisket that is the brisket rub. On a rack it is the dry rub for ribs. You do not want to be salting around a probe you were glad did not have a wire, and you do not want the ceramic end packed in rub and then buried.
Setup, the app, and range
Setup is the probe in the meat, the charger outside the cooker, and the phone on the same Bluetooth hop as the charger. Charge it before you light the fire. The support guide's numbers are a 4-hour first charge, about 2 hours after that, and about 24 hours of cooking once it is full. A brisket day fits in 24 hours if you actually charged it. Discovering a dead probe at dawn does not.
The range section is two hops, both from Meater.
Charger to phone, from the Plus product page: up to about 165 feet, depending on the cooker, obstacles, and the phone. They say to keep the phone reasonably close and in line of sight of the charger. A kamado is a thick obstacle. I cook on a Kamado Joe, and the habit is the charger on a stand just outside the hinge, not on the kitchen counter.
Probe to charger, from the Plus support guide: up to about 33 feet in open air. The Block guide, talking about the same style of probe, says smokers and kettles can reduce that hop a lot. I have not taped this on my Joe. What I will take from those pages is the shape. Open air is the long number. A closed ceramic lid is the short one. Foil around the ceramic end makes it worse. If you wrap a brisket, leave the ceramic tip out, or the probe goes quiet. Pink butcher paper is the wrap that still lets a radio through more often. The bark difference is on butcher paper vs foil.
The app's cook estimate uses the internal reading and that ambient reading. Treat it as a guess you can glance at. Set your own alarms for the stall and for the pull if you already know the cook. The guided script is there if you want a hand. It is not a result from this site.
Pros and cons
Pros
- At $79.99 on 25 October 2026, the Plus covers a 225 to 275°F cook with a 212°F internal ceiling and a 527°F ambient ceiling.
- One probe, a bamboo charger, and an AAA battery are the whole box, and Meater rates a full charge for about 24 hours.
- The product page says the probe is waterproof and dishwasher safe. The support guide says water-resistant. Either way you are not fishing a wire out of the sink.
Cons
- No Wi-Fi. Leaving the house means the Block, a Pro Duo, or a different tool.
- 527°F ambient is the ceiling, and Meater does not recommend this probe over an open flame.
- The support guide's charge is hours, not minutes, and a kamado still sits between the probe and the 165-foot phone hop.
Who should skip it
Skip it if the handle might see a sear or a flare. Buy the Meater Pro, $99.99 on 25 October 2026, for the 1000°F ambient maximum and the faster charge. Skip it if you leave the house and you still want this probe family. Buy the Meater Block, $239.95 on 29 October 2026, for four probes and Wi-Fi. Skip it if you want one probe and Wi-Fi at a lower bill. The one-probe CHEF iQ Sense was a $59.97 price amount on 29 October 2026. Skip it if you need two probes and a screen on a booster. The two-probe TempSpike is that pair, at a $99.99 price amount on 28 October 2026.
Skip it if the pit temperature is the failure. Buy a FireBoard 2, $199.00 on FireBoard's page, or Signals, $259.00 on Amazon and $249.00 on ThermoWorks' page, and add the fan separately. Skip it if you want eight sensors and a display. Combustion's Wi-Fi Display kit was $229 on 26 October 2026.
Skip a score, too, if you were looking for one. There isn't a logged cook of this probe against a reference thermometer on this site. The testing methodology says what that log has to include.
Shop
Meater Plus
One probe, Bluetooth, 527°F ambient, $79.99 on 25 October 2026.
| Price | $79.99 on meater.com, 25 October 2026 |
|---|---|
| Wi-Fi | Not on the Plus. The Block adds it. |
| Ambient | 527°F maker maximum |
Bottom line. Buy it for a gentle smoke you attend. Buy the Pro if the fire might spike. Buy the Block, or a different Wi-Fi probe, if the plan is to leave.